Faded Leaves: The Musings of a slightly crazy lady

Handmade Jewelry and Home Decor Blog

The Thanksgiving Chronicles, part 3 November 24, 2010

Filed under: Stuff in the life of Shannon H. — fadedleaves @ 3:47 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

So today was phase 3 of Operation: Host Thanksgiving for the first time and boy am i exhausted!

I got up this morning, got dressed, and came out to the kitchen all ready to bake pies. This year i decided to be lazy and use the ready made pie crusts. Well silly me forgot to get them out of the freezer last night and put them in the fridge so i would be able to use them this morning. Strike 1!

I got those out of the freezer then and laid them out on the counter. What could i do in the meantime? I decided to peel my potatoes for homemade mashed potatoes. Went ahead peeled all the potatoes i needed, quartered them, cleaned them, and put them in my pot for tomorrow, covered them with water and set them on the stove.

Next, I decided to go ahead and make my candied yams. So all i need to do tomorrow is put them in the oven. Mixed the butter and brown sugar in with the yams and put them in the fridge. Marshmallows will go on tomorrow.  Next i got out my apple peeler,corer,slicer thingy. Washed all my apples, then put them through the machine. Cut those in half and have perfectly equal thin sliced apples for my apple pie. Put them into a bowl, covered them with lemon juice and sat them in the fridge.

Ok, on to the pumpkin pie. Got out my favorite recipe and mixed up the pie. Decided to check on my pie crusts. They were perfect! rolled out the first one floured it a little and slid it into the pumpkin pie plate. Poured in the filling, started the oven, and sat it on the side. Opened the next pie crust, floured it, and slid it into my deep apple pie dish.  Mixed the flour, sugar, and cinnamon together, stirred it into the apples and poured them into the crust. At this time the oven was ready for the pumpkin pie, so in it went!

On to the crumbles for the apple pie. Mixed together the brown sugar, flour, and butter for the topping and topped the apple pie. Set it to the side to go in after the pumpkin was finished.

Got out the carrots and the broccoli and cut them all up for the veggie platter tomorrow. Got out my bunt pan and went ahead and poured my juice for my punch into it and slid it into the freezer to make a pretty ice ring for my punch tomorrow. Then got out my punch bowl and cleaned it up. When that was finished, I steeped the tea for sweet tea. Cant have a southern Thanksgiving without sweet ice tea. 😉

The only thing i didnt make today was the stuffing, but i figure i can whip that up tomorrow and all will be well.

So now that im exhausted im going to sit on the couch and wait for the hubs to get home before we drive to the airport and pick up the sister in law. Its going to be a great thanksgiving.

I wish you all have a great and happy Thanksgiving!

Until Next Time,

Shannon H.

 

Leave a Reply

