Faded Leaves: The Musings of a slightly crazy lady

Handmade Jewelry and Home Decor Blog

The Thanksgiving Chronicles, part 1 November 22, 2010

I thought it would be nice to chronicle my escapades of getting my house ready for Thanksgiving as this is my first year of hosting it as a married woman. I am excited and not so excited all at the same time. What if I ruin it? What if it doesnt turn out well? What if….. You get the picture.

My sister in law is coming in so i have to impress her. And this year we are having several soldiers over who have no family nearby. So on top of impressing family, I now have to impress strangers! Ok so maybe i dont have to impress them, but im sure you all understand how im feeling.

Today was my day to start baking. I first vacuumed the house, then i started to make candied almonds. I get halfway through and see i need brown sugar. Ok no biggie, since i love to bake i always have tons of ingredients on hand. But when i look, my canister containing my brown sugar is almost empty. I go to the pantry where i keep all my extras and NOTHING! I always have extra. UGH.

So i load myself into the car and drive to the store. I grabbed 2 bags of brown sugar, just in case, and head home. Talk about an adventure! I finally finished the almonds and put them in the oven to bake.  Ok, now that my head is screwed on straight again…

I started on the chex mix. I dont know what your holiday traditions are but mine dont seem to be complete until we have original Chex Mix to snack on. I love making it. Its been something my mom and I have made together for years. This year, my mom is hundreds of miles away, so I had to make it with the dog instead. LOL she was loving it as mommy is a very messy cook, and spilling things all over the place.

Chex Mix mixed up, almonds baking, now onto the cookies. I decided to make Andes Peppermint Crunch cookies for my husband’s unit. Tomorrow when i go on post to finish up my shopping for Thanksgiving, I will stop by his office and drop them off for all the soldiers. Soldiers LOVE sweets. 🙂

I finished mixing the cookies while the chex mix was cooling. I have one more batch of cookies to finish then I’ll be set for today. Tomorrow im making Pumpkin Crunch. Its delicious and an absolute family favorite hands down. And finishing my shopping.

When Thanksgiving is past and i have more time, I will post the recipes for the recipes mentioned above. Maybe next year you can make them a part of your holiday traditions too.

Until Next Time,

Shannon H.

 

Leave a Reply

