Faded Leaves: The Musings of a slightly crazy lady

Handmade Jewelry and Home Decor Blog

ASL: American Sign Language and ME October 13, 2010

I am so excited right now! I met a great lady at our new church who is as passionate about Sign Language as i am!! I think i could just scream right now.

Why is this so exciting you wonder? Well I have a great love for Deaf. They are such wonderful, friendly people, and most people wouldnt even know that because they dont take the time to get to know them or care to learn to speak some of their language.

My best friend is Deaf. I met her in college in nursing school. We sat next to each other every day in class and I took notes for her while she paid attention to the teacher. She reads lips and needed to really pay attention and couldnt take notes. It was a wonderful system. We graduated together and she is now a supervisor at a nursing home. And yes she does all this without being able to hear. She is a great nurse and a wonderfully caring person. I love you, Brooke! I miss our talks. 😦

Back when i was 10, my grandparents had a good friend who was Deaf and he taught me sign language. He opened up a whole new world to me and I loved every second of it!! I found i couldnt get enough of it and wanted more. My parents and grandparents fostered that love and gave me several books on sign language and i taught myself how to sign. When i went off to college, they offered free (gee thats a surprise at a college! lol) every sunday night for an hour and a half.  So i went. And i learned a ton of sign, did a song in front of most of the school, and went out to visit Deaf in the community to practice my signing. it was great! Since then my passion has only grown. I interpreted for my church for quite a few months until I got married and then moved away. I havent found anywhere to interpret at since and i really miss it.

BUT tonight i met that really wonderful lady and it brought my passion bubbling back up! She is just as enthusiastic as me and i cant wait to do more with her.

Watch out Georgia! Shannon is here and on a signing frenzy!!!

Until next time,

Shannon H.

 

5 Responses to “ASL: American Sign Language and ME”

  1. Kathleen Says:

    This post makes me so happy! I took sign language for a semester in college, so while that was years ago and I was far from fluent even back then, I *loved* signing and learning about the deaf community, and I’m so glad that you’ve found someone who shares your passion for signing! I hope you get to do something amazing. 🙂

  2. That’s so amazing! I’m glad you found someone you can share that with.

  3. Aria Says:

    You know, sign language is something I have always wanted to learn. I have several books but never have had anyone to practice with. Now that I live with a willing partner, I should totally make him learn it with me.

    My cousin taught his daughter baby sign language. While it’s different, it was amazing how helpful it became. She wasn’t a screamer because she could communicate her needs. It was really amazing. I’m always uncomfortable around babies(only child) so it was so interesting to meet one that I could talk to sort of.


Leave a Reply

